U.S. repatriates 27 stolen antiquities to Cambodia, UK says Delta variant 60% more transmissible, France to scale down West Africa counter-terrorism operations, Monsoon likely to reach Delhi by 15th June, 12 days ahead of schedule, Weightlifter Mirabai Chanu qualifies for Tokyo Olympics in women’s 49-kg category, Puducherry Assembly summoned on Jun 16 to elect Speaker,

Two West Bengal BJP MPs resign as MLAs

In West Bengal, BJP Lok Sabha MPs Jagannath Sarkar and Nisith Pramanik on Wednesday tendered their resignation as members of the state assembly, to which they were elected in the recent polls.Sarkar and Pramanik, MPs of Ranaghat and Cooch Behar respectively, went to the assembly and submitted their resignation letters to Speaker Biman Banerjee.Pramanik said that they are quitting as MLAs as per the directive of the BJP leadership.The saffron party had also fielded two other Lok Sabha MPs - Union minister Babul Supriyo and Locket Chatterjee and Rajya Sabha member Swapan Dasgupta but they lost the election.

The  party bagged 77 seats while the Trinamool Congress secured a landslide victory winning 213 of the 292 constituencies that went to polls. Election was countermanded in two seats due to the death of candidates. "The BJP has risen from just three MLAs (in the 2016 elections) to 77 MLAs. In order to add experience in running the government, some MPs had been fielded," Sarkar said. Pramanik said that they cannot remain members of both the Lok Sabha and the state assembly simultaneously. Dinhata and Santipur assembly segments fall within the respective Lok Sabha constituencies of Pramanik and Sarkar.



 Dr Anoop Chandra Pandey as the new  Election Commissioner in Election Commission of India.

Read More


Over 800 suspected members of organised crime gangs were arrested from 18 countries. Tons of drugs were also seized.

Read More


Jitin Prasad defection to BJP is now a days a hot topic of discussion in UP as well as at the national level politics.

Read More